Description

The Bookmarks menu is a drop-down menu at the top of the screen, and contains the following commands.

Detail Steps

Document Bookmarks

The first ten document bookmarks of the active document can be retrieved from this list.

User Bookmarks

The first ten personal bookmarks linked to the active document can be retrieved from this list.

Add Bookmark

Opens the Add Bookmark Dialog dialog, where the bookmark name can be edited. This command can also be invoked by the following keyboard shortcut: Ctrl+B.

Replace Bookmark

The first ten document bookmarks are listed above the first ten personal bookmarks of the active document. The command replaces the selection state of the selected bookmark with the current state.

Remove Bookmark

The first ten document bookmarks are listed above the first ten personal bookmarks of the active document. The command removes the selected bookmark.

More...

Opens the Bookmarks dialog, where all previously created bookmarks for the document can be retrieved.

Import...

After browsing for and selecting a previously saved bookmark (.qbm) file, the Import Bookmarks dialog will open to make it possible to import bookmarks.

Export...

Opens the Export Bookmark(s) dialog where selected bookmarks can be exported to a QlikView bookmark (.qbm) file.


Bookmark Types

The current state of selections can be saved as bookmarks for later use. There are different types of bookmarks:

Document bookmarks

are stored inside the qvw document. They will always be available to whoever opens the document locally or from a QlikView Server.

User bookmarks

are stored separately on the user’s computer. They will only be available to the user who created them on the computer where they were created. If the document is moved or renamed all personal bookmarks related to it will be lost.

Personal Server bookmarks

are only available when working with a document on QlikView Server and only to authenticated users. They are stored in a repository on the server and are accessible to the user from any computer where authenticated.

Shared Server bookmarks

are only available when working with a document on QlikView Server and only to authenticated users. Any user who has created a personal server bookmark may flag this as shared to other users. They will then become available to other users. Just like personal server bookmarks shared server bookmarks are stored in a repository on the server.


Add Bookmark Dialog

The current state of selections can be saved as a bookmark by choosing Add Bookmark from the Bookmarks menu or by pressing Ctrl+B. 

Bookmark Name

The default name for the created bookmark is that of the current date. In addition, the first bookmark created on a specific day gets number 1, the second number 2, etc. However, it is possible to change the default name to a more explanatory text by entering an optional name.

Make this bookmark a document bookmark

By marking the check box, the bookmark will be saved with the document. This option is available for local documents only. If the check box is not marked, the bookmark will be created as a user bookmark, stored locally on the computer.

Include Selections in Bookmark

By marking the check box the bookmark will include the selections made in the application.

Make bookmark apply on top of current selection

By marking the check box, the bookmark will be applied without first clearing existing selections in the document.

Include Layout State

By marking the check box, the bookmark will store information about the sheet from which it was created and the state of all sheet objects on that sheet at the time of the bookmark’s creation, including, for example, the expanded or collapsed state of a pivot table and the cycling position of a chart. When recalling a bookmark with layout information, QlikView will attempt to activate the sheet and restore sheet objects to that state.

Include Scroll Positions

Marking this check box will include the current scroll positions in the bookmark.

Include Input Field Values

By marking this check box, the values in input fields will be stored in the bookmark.

Info Text

In the edit box it is possible to enter a text describing the bookmark or a message to be shown when recalling the bookmark.

Popup Message

If the check box is marked, the bookmark info text (if it exists) will be displayed in a pop-up window each time the bookmark is recalled.

The differences for server documents are as follows:

Create as a server bookmark

When this check box is marked, the bookmark will be created as a personal server bookmark, stored in a repository on the server. This option is available only if the user is an authenticated user and provided that the QlikView Server and the document owner allows the creation of server bookmarks.
If the check box is not marked, the bookmark will be created as a user bookmark, stored locally on the computer.

Share Bookmark with Others

Provided that a personal server bookmark is created, marking this check box will immediately share the bookmark for use by other authenticated users of the same server document. It is possible at any time revoke the sharing by deselecting the Share check box in the My Server Bookmarks page of the Bookmarks dialog.


Import Bookmarks

In the Import Bookmarks dialog, a list of all bookmarks that are included in the selected bookmark file, are found.

Note!
Bookmarks should only be imported to a QlikView document containing fields and field values to which the bookmarks refer.


Bookmarks Available for Import

To the left all the bookmarks which were defined in the bookmark file are listed.

Current Bookmarks

To the right a list of existing user bookmarks or document bookmarks in the document is shown. Bookmarks must be imported either as a user bookmark or as a document bookmark. The radio buttons at the top of the dialog governs how the bookmark is imported.

Import

Highlight one or more bookmarks in the Bookmarks Available for Import list and press this button to import them.

Rename

Opens the Rename Bookmark dialog where a new name for the highlighted bookmark can be specified before import.


Export Bookmark(s)

In the Export Bookmarks dialog a list of all bookmarks that have been defined in the current document, is found. Only those bookmarks that are ticked will be included in the exported bookmark (.qbm) file.

On clicking OK the specification of a file name and location for the bookmark file will be requested.. Once saved, the bookmark file can be kept for later use or distributed to other users of the same QlikView document.



Related Information

None